Computer and Internet Solutions

Info regarding Computers,Internet,Windows,Mobiles,Data recovery and much more…

Boost slow dialup internet connection

For over a year I have been searching softwares to boost my slow dial up internet connection speed and ,in fact I did find a lot. All of them have big claims that they can boost my dial up internet connection speed but my dial up internet connection speed never boosted.

Some have claims that their software boost modem speed and other claim to boost dial up internet speed by tweaking registry but the reality is that on slow dial up internet connections all of them failed. The bandwidth of dialup internet connection is low and on top of that the connection usually stops after a few minutes. I was too skeptical. Then I decided to tweak dial up internet by hit and trial.

I tried several attempts and finally I found what I was looking for.

Here are the steps which I practically did myself, but remember all these steps apply to Windows XP service pack 2

Open registry editor by typing “regedit”in the “Run…” in the “start” button.

Find this key “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProvider” and
Edit “DnsPriority” to 1
“HostsPriority” to 1
“LocalPriority” to 1
“NetbtPriority” to 1
Download and Install Cablenut. Its free.

Open “adjuster” and add the values as shown

Cablenut adjustments

Download and install freshdevices free.

Run freshdevices and expand “Windows System”
Expand “Network Settings”
FInd “Change PPOE the MTU Size”.
In the “Protocol type size”,”PPP Protocol Type” and “Protocol MTU Size” type zero

In the ‘Network Settings” Click “Manage the reserved QoS Bandwidth”> Reserved Qos Bandwidth> change it to 0%

In the ‘Network Settings” Click “Manage the QoS Packet Queuing”> Set the max no fo outstanding packets change it to 0

Open Device Manager and click modem properties > Advanced > Change Default Preferences
Port speed 115200
Data Protocol Disabled
Compression Disabled
Flow Control None

Click start > Connect to “your dialup connection” > Properties > General > Configure > Uncheck all.

Click Connect to “your dialup connection” > Properties > Networking > Click QoS Packet Schedular under TCP/IP and uninstall.

Click TCP/IP > Properties > Advanced > Uncheck Use IP Header compression

Reboot your system

These settings have helped me to make my slow dial up internet connection into a significantly high speed dial up internet connection.

A very useful site for hundreds of windows tweaks is winguides.com

January 22, 2008 - Posted by | Computers and Internet

No comments yet.

Leave a comment